Strawberry Pepper Lime Scones

It’s been a busy week in the house of Fortress KriSteve (Yes, we totally named our apartment. Shut up!).

I started a new job this week, which is one of the reasons why this post got delayed. New schedule with new start times combined with appointments and concerts make for a very, very tiring week.

Our breakers blew in our apartment for the second time this month on Monday night. After much stress, we finally had the problem resolved and learnt we have an awesome downstairs neighbour. And hydro! Hurrah!

I chopped off all my hair on Tuesday. It’s hot, and I don’t want to be bothered with hair in my face.

I got to see Fiona Apple at the Sound Academy last night as an early birthday present. If you ever have the opportunity to see her live, do it. Don’t ask questions. Don’t second guess whether it’s worth it or not. Just. Go. Trust me. It will be worth every penny. She is such a talented woman who puts so much emotion into her music. It’s absolutely mind blowing and left me in awe of her. She loves and feels her music. It’s not something I see all that often; and when I do I am utterly grateful for having the opportunity to witness it. There were moments where her emotion was so raw that it got me choked up with tears. It was that good. Best song of the night, Not About Love. So. Damn. Awesome.

Also, we got to eat our first harvest from the garden tonight! We picked two lovely peppers and put them in a delicious stir-fry. The entire time I was preparing them, I was all giddy with the fact that I GREW THEM! All by myself. Well, with the help of the sun and stuff, too. Look at them!

Before getting to the recipe of the day, I would like to note that I will now be making posts on SUNDAYS. I am currently blessed with an amazing schedule that allows me to have weekends off (for now, anyways) and since I start at very early hours, it is best for me to put my baking on a day that I am not at work all day. So, tune in every SUNDAY for new posts from here on in, okay? Okay.

Now, let’s get to the good stuff. It’s berry month, so let’s bake some berry-tastic goodies! Strawberry Pepper Lime Scones, it’s your time to shine.

Strawberry Pepper Lime Scones

Adapted from Joy The Baker’s Cookbook

Makes approximately 10-12 scones

1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup large flake rolled oats

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp ground pepper

1 egg

1 cup buttermilk, cold

10 tbsp unsalted butter, frozen

3/4 cup fresh strawberries, diced

juice of 2 limes (approximately 2 tbsp)

1 tbsp lime zest

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

In a small bowl, whisk together buttermilk and egg. Place in fridge to keep cool while you prep your other ingredients.

In a large bowl, whisk together flours, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and pepper. Don’t be scared of the pepper. I know it seems weird; but trust me on this one. The pepper will compliment the lime in ways you can’t imagine! So delicious.

Set aside your dry ingredients, grab your strawberries and dice them up. Once that’s complete, zest and juice your limes!

Grab your box grater and your frozen butter. Grate the butter into your dry ingredients, like so:

With your fingers, as quickly as you can (you want the butter to remain cold!), incorporate the butter into the flour until slightly crumbly.

Get your buttermilk mixture from the fridge and pour into your crumbly dry ingredients. At this time, also pour in your lime juice. With a fork or wooden spoon, mix until dough comes together. It should be sticky and wet.

Once the dough comes together, throw in the strawberries and lime zest and fold them into the dough.

If you have an ice cream scoop, retrieve it from it’s hiding place. Use it to scoop your dough into lovely little dough balls and place them on your baking sheets.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until they’re a nice golden brown and firm. Once done, let them cool on a cooling rack. Best served warm, though are also delicious once cooled. Eat them! Eat them all! They have an amazing peppery-lime after taste. So good. So very good.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Pepper Lime Scones

Leave a Reply

